jump to navigation

In a metro September 6, 2009

Posted by K in Fiction.
Tags: ,
trackback

Man 1, clutching a briefcase on his lap.
Man 2, staring at Man 1.

Man 1 (edging away from Man 2) :Aap zara us taraf dekhiye. Mujhe kyon dekhe jaa rahe hain?
(Why are you staring at me? Please look away)
Man 2: Kyon? Dekhna mana hai?
(Why? One is not allowed to look?)

Man 1 (edgily): Dekhiye, mai us tara ka aadmi nahi hoon…
(See here, I’m not that kind of a man…)

Man 2: Matlab aapko dekhna mana hai?
(Meaning you’re the sort one isn’t allowed to look at?)

Man 1: Haan, us tara ke aadmi mujhe dekh nahi sakte hai. Mai mana karta hoon.
(Yes, I forbid those type of people to look at me.)

Man 2: Hm. (switching to English) By ‘us tara’ you mean homosexuals.

Man 1 (startled): Er, yes, look, I…

Man 2: You think just because I looked at you I was a homosexual. Fine, lets imagine a scenario where I was homosexual.
(pauses)
What makes you think I would have picked you…to stare at I mean…

Man 1: Er…

Man 2: Because you have a briefcase on your lap? Because you wear Wrinkle-Free? Because your mummy told you that you are her han’some lil boy?

Man 1: Look…

Man 2: Staring makes you uncomfortable, does it? Why do you stare, then? Why were you staring at that girl over there? I saw you, and thought I’d see how well you take your own shit.

(Announcement over the metro station. Man 2’s station has come)

Man 2(getting up): Oh and by the way, I am homosexual. Just so you know.

Comments»

1. Jacky V. - September 7, 2009

Love it! Thanks!

2. kishore - September 7, 2009

haha nice one:P This is british humour only:)

3. yaamyn - September 9, 2009

🙂

4. aparna - September 9, 2009

That was a good one. Enjoyed it.

5. anannya - September 12, 2009

loved it. 🙂

6. wild iris - September 20, 2009

ooh this was so good =) I miss reading your blog, promise I’ll be more regular now!

7. sporadicblogger - September 22, 2009

Thanks all 🙂 Good to have your feedback!

8. Aridhi - October 17, 2009

HMMM. Humour aside, that’s pretty powerful.
Call me?


Leave a Reply

