jump to navigation

Somewhere Back in Time 2009, Bangalore February 18, 2009

Posted by K in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I did finally go for the gig.

The night of the Belgrade gig I was too excited to sleep. I kept waking up to hit the refresh button to know the new setlist. The next morning I realised, what the eff. I am too interested to not go. Made the final decision on Saturday morning, bought me a Volvo ticket for 5.30PM that very day, and was in Bangalore by 12 PM on Sunday.

I reached the venue at 3.30 PM ( I did NOT want to hear the opening bands except Parikrama, and they played such a short set too 😦 … ), bought my ticket and sauntered in. The tour merchandise stall held me attention, but I tore myself away, telling myself I really shouldn’t be spending on a tshirt, and walked into the main venue.

I went alone, as mentioned before, so, bored fashion, I sat in the sun, towards the right of the stage, waiting for them to finish. (The band before Cyanide Serenity I quite liked. Not the others). After a while, I couldn’t resist, and made my way to the tour merch stall within the main venue, and bought myself the Final Leg shirt. The one with Eddie in a strait jacket. The price was exorbitant and the quality NOT as good as the Levis ones in 2007.

By about 5.45 I figured that the friends I had been waiting to meet (outside the venue) would never beat the Bangalore traffic, so I began to position myself near the stage. And good thing too, because a few minutes later, the crowd started to thicken.

I got the closest to the stage this time, of all three gigs, and pretty much throughout the concert, saw everything up on the stage. Heck, at one point I even thought I saw Steve looking my way while doing his 180* machine gunning thing 😀

The crowd was better than the Bombay crowd- less poseurs. However, the pushing this time was pretty bad. It WAS responsible for getting me centre-almost front, but I could have done without it. I’m claustrophobic generally, and this was the first time I felt it surfacing during a Maiden gig. I was too squashed to headbang or jump, most of the time.

I saw a lot more girls this time (and not the kinds who came in stilletoes like in 2008!), by themselves (two girls from Calcutta who cussed the taller people in front of them in Bengali :D)  and smallish kids. Some kids had to move back during the gig because of the pushing.

The setlist, was as follows-

  1. Aces High
  2. Two Minutes to Midnight
  3. Wrathchild
  4. Children of the Damned
  5. Phantom of the Opera
  6. The Trooper
  7. Wasted Years
  8. The Rime…of the Ancient…Mariner!
  9. Powerslave
  10. Run to the Hills
  11. Fear of the Dark
  12. Hallowed By Thy Name
  13. Iron Maiden
  14. The Number of the Beast
  15. The Evil That Men Do
  16. Sanctuary

The last three were the last three, ofcourse 😛

Not a major fan of the setlist this time. I could have done without Aces High (don’t raise your eyebrows, I just think there are so many better songs they can play!), 2M2M, The Trooper, Run to the Hills, Fear of the Dark, Hallowed (the one song that I have always preferred non-live), and TNOTB to an extent. I seriously think these songs are done to death!

I REALLY wish they wouldn’t have slashed Revelations (my favourite from last time I think!) and Heaven Can Wait (HOW COULD THEY?!!) and Moonchild 😦 😦 AND NO INFINITE DREAMS AGAIN! SOB!

And Fear of the Dark on an SBIT tour?? It’s not even the right time period!!

Sigh.

Anyway, the band was superlative. Bruce was in top-form, and it was something to see the Three Amigos lined up on stage 😀

I’m really looking forward to the next gig, because it will involve a completely new setlist. Can’t wait for the new album!! :D:D:D

Oh, and the whole going alone bit was good in bits and not so good in bits. A concert is definitely more fun when you have company. But travelling alone for over 36 hours was awesome!! 😀 Volvos are really very comfortable, and the endless road journey with your ears plugged into Maiden, Queen, Rainbow, David Bowie, The Who, the Scorpions, Marilyn Manson, Iced Earth etc etc….bliss 🙂

Comments»

1. kishore - February 19, 2009

hmmm good review, i thought that phantom was a good enough reason to go. plus i hadn’t ever seen rime:P. It’s all worth it considering they’ll probably never play these songs again. Maybee next time we may have bnw and dod, with the classics removed. Do read my review too. And i didn’t know you were a girl until now, so respect man!

2. sporadicblogger - February 22, 2009

Yeah, POTO and Sanctuary (and COTD) basically is what I couldn’t bear the idea of missing 🙂 The rest I had heard in Bombay, and I remember how excited I was to actually hear songs that I never imagined would be played again 🙂

This was actually less of a review, as compared to what I put up for the last two gigs. This time I just had less to say about the concert 🙂 Yours was a proper one!

3. kishore - February 25, 2009

I know. But the crowd was good. Pretty into their music. I have a feeling they’ll bring dod net time around, the very thought gives me goosebumps. I’m already hoping they play clansman too. The new album may be out by the year end. can’t wait:P

4. sporadicblogger - February 26, 2009

The crowd at Bangalore was DEFINITELY better than the crowd at Mumbai 🙂

Dod will prolly be in the next ‘History’ tour… And for DoD I will brave countless moshpits and bruises 😀

5. kishore - February 26, 2009

Only time will tell:P moshing i never understand.

6. Sachin - February 28, 2009

Glad you made it.

The set list could have been better, yes, but watching them live is a privilege, isn’t it?

Hope they come again soon. Up the Irons!

sporadicblogger - March 1, 2009

Yup 🙂

7. Jarvis - March 3, 2009

Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

______________________________
Renegade ClickBank Affiliate Banks $127,783 In 30 Days With New Google Software …

8. Albert - March 27, 2009

great review… I’m from Peru and the setlist is almost the same as they played in Lima. Iron Maiden promised us to come back in two years from now and I thought that one of the reason is the response from the audience to the band. And in second place, I guess is our pisco sour which was one of the requirements at the backstage to connect with our people.


Leave a Reply

