jump to navigation

October 4, 2008

Posted by K in Copyright Infringemnt, Funny, Recent reads-and my comments.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

The BCL is undergoing renovation. Hurrah! Lol. I get to borrow 5 books instead of 3 and 3 DVDs instead of 2 till December, because of that :D:D (The books have come to Bombay with me. Muhaha.)

Sebastian Faulks’ (Not Faulk, apologies) Pistache has, amongst others, this-

T.S Eliot

reflects that it might have come out better in limericks

THE WASTE LAND

Said a Lloyd’s clerk with mettlesome glands:

‘To Margate- I’ll lie on the sands.

The Renaissance and Dante,

Dardanelles and now-Shanti!

God, it’s all come apart in my hands.’

THE LOVE SONG OF J. ALFRED PRUFROCK

I once missed the moment to be

Someone not on the periphery;

But my second-hand life

Was too dull for a wife:

Now the stairlist awaits only me.

FOUR QUARTETS

For an Anglican, time is too vast;

A rose or a vision can’t last:

It’s a moment in history,

Our grace and our mystery,

And the future is lost in the past.

ASH WEDNESDAY

The weight of the past makes me pine

For a language that’s English, but mine.

No more hog’s-head and Stilton,

And to prove I’m not Milton,

I’ll compose with four beats to a line.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

