jump to navigation

September 22, 2008

Posted by K in Uncategorized.
trackback

Apologies for the lack of updates. Thanks, yaamyn, for the reminder 🙂 Not that I needed reminding. I AM a sporadicblogger…that is precisely why I’m sporadicblogger 🙂

The weeks have been pretty packed. My Grandfather passed away a few days back. Dealing with it was harder than I thought it would be. This was the first time I have faced death, literally and metaphorically.

I’ve been working as well. In a different way. I’ve decided it’s to hell with all the compulsory bullshit. If I read what I’m interested in, and focus my energies on what I’m interested in, then the hours spent in sopoforic nothingness will significantly reduce. Ofcourse, it’s helped that I’ve had a few good books to keep me company.

I’ve dissed Amitav Ghosh’s Shadow Lines before. Probably for the wrong reasons. I know it’s brilliantly constructed and that is where my problem lay. With it, I mean. After the second read I found it too damn… constructed. So I never picked up another book of his. The last time I went home, I found my brother’s copy of Hungry Tide. He liked it, he said, so I brought it back with me. That, and Erich Segal’s The Class. I couldn’t put down either. Erich Segal was different from what I had expected him to be. There were cliches a plenty in the book, but I would recommend it simply for the way it makes you feel about university education. For a brief moment, I considered applying for another degree after my post-grad. Actually, I’m still living in that brief, for such it will be, moment. 🙂

The Hungry Tide was awesome. (Yup, awesome. I know words like ‘yum’ and ‘awesome’ irritate the englishness of some people, but what to do. I’m an un-englished sporadicblogger. I delight in cliches and airy phrases.) I found myself yearning to know more about the Sundarbans and river dolphins. The distant echo of familiarity sucked me right in. I have heard stories about the Sundarbans from my grandparents and other relatives. The stories generally hinged on the Royal Bengal T. It was like revisiting that part of the old, with the book, except it was not a revisit, ofcourse.

I do have to admit, the romantic pairings exposed my, now, evident middle-class prejudices. I found it hard to comprehend the chemistry. So much for me and my 🙂

As long as I’m talking about stuff I’ve read (you’ll have to pardon me. This is a boring post, but nothing remotely scintillating comes to mind as of now.), I finally deigned to suffer the tiny book excerpts that Outlook has been occassionally dropping in with the main magazine. I couldn’t find the Arundhati Roy extract, but I read the one from the Sea of Poppies (another Amitav ghosh book that I’ll now be reading.), three short stories from Khushwant Singh (the man is a perv. He is a brilliant writer, but I don’t care for his sensibility. Or atleast, that part of his sensibility. Which basically means I will not be reading much Khushwant Singh.), the Bond sequel by Sebastian Faulk (spelling?). I’ve never much been a fan of the Bond books or the movies, so it was hardly surprising that I didn’t like the sequel either. I can think of better ways to get bored.(That would not be a slight to the author; anything but.)

Murakami. I’ve been hearing that man’s name since my second year. I even blabbered his name to the principal of my ex-college while trying to explain the topic of our seminar, while trying to justify the need for a full-fledged fest. The first time I read him was now. My cousin gave me Dance, Dance, Dance for my 21st birthday, and I opened it with great expectations. Unfortunately, I think I’m not the Murakami type. It would have been nice to feel the magic. Maybe I ought to try more before forming an opinion. Maybe I need to finish the book.

I’ve also been reading more non-fiction these days. One excellent book I picked up recently is called The Violence of Normal Times; Essays on Women’s Lived Realities, edited by Kalpana Kannabiran. It has a collection of brilliant essays, written in a manner that makes you want to keep reading. The topic it deals with, violence and women, is a very common one. Anybody and everybody writes about it. But this, is something else. So far I’ve only read two essays- one on women as witches in the adivasi community, and how the creation of witches can be used to explain the creation of gender divide, and the other one on the treatment of rape in court. The ‘medicalisation of consent’; brilliant piece, horribly disturbing.

I have been google imaging quite frequently these days. Trawling for awesomness that gets saved in my ‘art’ folder. Some of the paintings/art work I’m in love with are by George Grie, Magritte, and other surrealist-type artists. And, ofcourse, Dali. I love his work, except I find the nudes and the grotesque’d body paintings too disturbing. I generally do not like the human anatomy celebrated on paper(or canvas, or whatever). I like it better on film.

Black and white art photography (is that a tautology?) is also being collected.

And here the post abruptly endeth.

Comments»

1. aa - September 26, 2008

censorship? mein gott!

2. anonymouse - September 26, 2008

And today I shall visit the Strand sale at Juhu.
MUHAHAHAHAHAHA!

3. sporadicblogger - September 26, 2008

aa- Well, yes. Comments that I find irrelevant, offensive to certain communities and made just for the sake of drawing attention to oneself, I will henceforth delete. Congratulations.

anonymouse- Darmit. And here I am in Delhi right now! How long is it on?

4. aa - September 26, 2008

hey maybe you should make a trip to china, I hear they’re really big on censorship there

5. anonymouse - September 29, 2008

Till next week, I think. I’ll look it up tonight and post from home.

6. sporadicblogger - September 30, 2008

anonymouse- Fanks 🙂

7. anonymouse - September 30, 2008

It’s at the Raheja college of architecture, Vidyanidhi Marg, Juhu.

The sale runs till 6th October, 10 am to 8 pm.

8. sporadicblogger - October 8, 2008

I missed the sale. Bah.

9. anonymouse - October 10, 2008

Bleh, Strand will have most of the books available at their shop anyway. At least, the truly good stuff.

10. Indrani Basu - October 11, 2008

I havent read. Dance dance dance or Hungry Tide. Wanna read both. Maybe you could try after dark. i liked it, if not loved it. i liked it because of the style. like a director telling you about this film he wanted to make. 🙂

11. kishore - February 19, 2009

Murakami is a very difficult read. I took 3 weeks to read Norwegian wood. It’s really something. Reminds me a bit of eleven minutes by Coelho.


Leave a Reply

