jump to navigation

September 1, 2008

Posted by K in Uncategorized.
trackback

Nope, the blog it no dead be. Not quite yet, padre B-) I contemplate killing it every now and then, but the flesh is weak.

Mumbai is growing on me. It’s those visits to South Bombay… you just can’t be indifferent to VT and Colaba and Bagdadi 😀

I love the buses here. I had intended to do a whole post on the lovelies, but just never got around to it.

Mumbai trains…I like them. They are useful. But I would CRY if I had to use them everyday, and in rush hour traffic!

Mumbai rains…I’m glad they’re gone. Bombay has a horrible fungus problem. I have never ranted as much about anything in my life! You put in freshly laundered, DRY, clothes, only to have them come out green and stinky a day and a half later!! EVERYTHING catches fungus…EVERYTHING!

It’s funny about the rains. Not funny, just interesting. I was in Delhi from the 13th of August to the 17th, and this was a period when it was raining heavily in both Mumbai and Delhi. Mumbai is used to this kind of deluge, but Delhi isn’t. The streets of Bombay are full of people going about with their lives as if the rain wasn’t even there. People wear their ‘nice’ clothes and shoes and go about life. The expressions on their face say it all-they don’t even seem to notice the rain. It is so different in Delhi! I was on a bus, on my way to my ex-college, on a day when Delhi had Mumbai-like rains. For the entire stretch of the journey I watched the people on the streets, and everybody had bemused expressions on their faces. Some were even laughing as they were caught in the rain-nobody carries an umbrella on their person in Delhi 🙂

Since I’m doing a ramble, let me talk about my Pune visit. I love Pune!:D:D:D:D One of my friends was to be in Pune for a few days so I decided to go visit. Maybe it was because I was meeting her, or maybe it was Pune, but the place rocks!(er.)  The streets are quaint, Hanuman Temples and street corners play DJ mujik, and it’s so tiny! The place is full of students and MG Road is obviously a place I want to return to 🙂 Pune also has the nicest Biryani I have ever eaten, in a lovely little place called the Blue Nile. I know Pune is not all sun and shine, I have heard about the intolerance and orthodoxy of certain parts, but as an outsider, I do not have to have the misfortune of being aquainted with it 🙂

I am an outsider. I do not feel a part of Mumbai, or even Pune, as I do in Delhi. Delhi is home. Or atleast, it is close to being home. I am less self-conscious when I am back there. I know Delhi, with its cracks and faults and stuff. (stuff? Er, again.)

Living out of home has led me to discover a certain aspect of my self. I am minorly OCD’d. I can’t stand seeing bottles with their caps off; or dirty dishes in the sink. If I have something I want to tell somebody, I can’t concentrate on anything until I have actually verballated (nope, it’s not a word), even if there are more pressing matters on hand. Hee.

I can’t believe I can’t write these days. I just can’t. It is as if my mind has shut out that possibility. It doesn’t feel it can create…anything. Which is why I shall blog only when the writer-ish thing happens again. I didn’t have much fun doing this post. I thought I would, but I didn’t 🙂

Comments»

1. aa - September 2, 2008

BLOG IS DEAD

AND I HAVE KILLED IT

2. anonymouse - September 2, 2008

Meh. The trains work. If you had to ride them every day, you would get used to the rush hour traffic as well.

I do not feel a part of Mumbai,

Yet. You will be assimilated.

3. Paul - September 2, 2008

Oooops! I just now commented on the wrong post. I meant to comment on this one, but I left my comment on the preceding post. This is what happens when you get old.

4. sporadicblogger - September 3, 2008

anonymouse- get used to it, yes. But that doesn’t mean I’ll begin to not dislike it 😛

Paul- Thanks for reading even though I’ve not been blogging bloggable posts!:)

5. wild iris - September 6, 2008

I miss you 😦
And I carry an umbrella 🙂 Dont fancy getting drenched.
And that OCD thing…I have the syptoms too 😛

6. sporadicblogger - September 7, 2008

Kriti my friend! I miss college and all of you. I have decided that college days were the Best Days of My Life 😀 How you be? Wait, this should be happening on facebook….(shifts)


Leave a Reply

