jump to navigation

Of ‘Pulpy Orange’ and Capitalism May 4, 2008

Posted by K in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I have been divorced from Cable TV (and Dish TV and Tata Sky…oh, you get the picture, don’t you…) for quite a while now; probably about a year or so. So it was quite a strange experience facing the Idiot Service (God bless it) on the Idiot Box, while waiting for our order of takeaway food to arrive .* They had the channel fixed on the IPL match between Chennai Super Somethings and the Jaipur team, and I was treated (I use the word with caution here…) to my first sight of a live IPL match. It was, well, for the first few balls I felt the familiar warming of the cockles of the heart, before I remembered I was not a fan of the IPL and, for that matter, cricket, anymore. That instinctive reaction led to a more measured, and hopefully scientific, scrutiny of the next few minutes of play, and, not surprisingly, I didn’t appreciate it much.

There were 2 beautiful cover drives, as opposed to a hell lot of slogging and poor bowling. A ball down legside (which deservedly got punished) got no comment for being a loose delivery; the commentator was more focussed on the four it brought (and that may be the whole point of Tamasha Cricket, but still. Commentary…?). Again, a slog shot received an excited response from the commentary box , something to the effect of what a big hit it was, only to be appended by a non-apologetic, anti-climatic (for as viewers, we only see the camera angle of the white cherry soaring into the sky. Presumably, the commentator has a better view. His calling it a Big Hit is queer, strange, inexplicable)…aaand it clears the infield. Wow. A big hit that clears the infield. Back in the good ol’ days (yes, imagine me with the croaky, granny voice), a big hit signalled a BIG HIT! It meant the ball had atleast TOUCHED the boundary rope. But no. Apparently these days, a ‘big hit’ is inflated commentary. That, or the poor bloke (I couldn’t catch the voice clearly enough to figure out who the commentator was. I wouldn’t be surprised if it was that grotesque clown, Srikkanth) meant to indicate that the ball had been sent miles up in the air-vertically. Only.

Anyhow, I refuse to spend more character space on IPL. I saw the cheerleaders. I didn’t get cheered. Sivamani was more festive for me. But then again…Sivamani’s been at other cricket matches before. The only good thing I can see about the IPL is that the lesser known cricketers, those left languishing on the terrible Ranji scene, are now presumably getting more of a fair deal.

The original point of the post was the Pulpy Orange advertisement. The one where they show how all the oranges are now hollow and deflate when approached, as all the pulp is now bottled by the owners of Pulpy Orange. I thought it was extremely insightful and very apt,although I don’t quite think they meant it to be so. It’s a good way to sum up the Onward March of the capitalists, isn’t it? Turn the naturally available into packageable commodities that can be bar-coded and stocked in stores to generate capital for corporate houses. Create newer and newer unnecessary COMMODITIES, and get the consumer to covet it. ( I haven’t met too many fans of Pulpy Orange, and I still do prefer the round, waxy skinned fruit, thankyouverymuch…)

This is not to say that the orange is a particularly accessible fruit. Last time I checked (last week…) it was going at Rs40 a kilo. However, by turning it into bottled slush, you are definitely doing something…capitalistic and wrong. Okay, fine, let me qualify that. You take away oranges from the market to make drinks that are accessible to the very few, and in the process use up MORE water that you are probably taking away from the farmers who want to irrigate their fields, just as Pepsi and tribe are doing.

It’s just…wrong.

*I have vowed to give up all junk food for a month starting,what else, tomorrow 🙂

Comments»

1. pr3rna - May 5, 2008

Sporadic, I don’t consider T-20 cricket yet. I confess that I enjoy it and I am keeping a track of all the matches. I like IPL because nowhere else could you witness a sight in which Ponting is hugging Ganguly (especially after the racism controversy) or Shoaib Mallik exchanging high fives with Sehwag. Welcome to globalised cricket.

2. ish - May 5, 2008

Well, I don’t know if the lesser known players are actually getting a fair deal or not. They’re getting completely overshadowed by the international ones and the members of the Indian national team. But then yea, some youngsters have come up. I genuinely hope something good happens to them.

As far as the commentary goes, well that’s going down and down because every retired cricketer is now a commentator. You name them and you’ll find them commentating..except the ones who don’t know English of course. Most of them, like Srikkanth and Navjot Sidhu have a verbal diarrhoea. They have to keep speaking even if it makes sense or not. The other day, somebody went, “He’s a reasonably good looking guy, McGrath. I wonder why they call him Pidge”. And the big shot things keep happening. The other day I was listening to this commentator who went, “OOOH, That’s a huge hit. Oh maybe not so huge after all. There was a camera in front of me, I couldn’t see”. Yea, right.

And interesting observation about Pulpy Orange. But no more comments because I absolutely despise it. It tastes baaad. 😐

3. sporadicblogger - May 6, 2008

Aunty- I agree it is here to stay 🙂

Ish- I know what you mean. However, I feel it is still marginally better, when players have a choice of T20 to make money, rather than Ranji-International being the only option.

Yeah, Pulpy Orange is horrible!


Leave a Reply

