jump to navigation

Playlist February 23, 2008

Posted by K in Maiden, Music.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Let me recommend some music-

  1. Temple of the King– Rainbow
  2. Catch the Rainbow– Rainbow
  3. Stargazer– Rainbow
  4. Gates of Babylon– Rainbow
  5. Man on the Silver Mountain ( Live and luscious 😀 ) – Rainbow
  6. Humanity– Scorpions
  7. Take Another Piece of my Heart– Janis Joplin
  8. Ride Like The Wind-Saxon
  9. Jet City Woman– Queensryche
  10. The Red Carpet Grave– Marilyn Manson
  11. Rocka Rolla– Judas Priest
  12. King in Crimson– Bruce Dickinson
  13. Navigate the Seas of the Sun– Bruce Dickinson
  14. Tears of the Dragon– Bruce Dickinson
  15. Trumpets of Jericho- Bruce Dickinson —Another Trumpets of Jericho-quite cool 8)
  16. Alexander the Great– Iron Maiden
  17. Powerslave– Iron Maiden
  18. Rime of the Ancient Mariner– Iron Maiden
  19. Revelations(Live)– Iron Maiden <—EXTRA AWESOME! 😀
  20. Iron Maiden-Iron Maiden <—Classic!! 😀
  21. Running Free(Live) – Iron Maiden
  22. Remember Tomorrow– Iron Maiden
  23. Thin Lizzy’s Whiskey In The Jar, or, as someone put it, Whishkey In The Jar

Most of this should be available on youtube…I’ll put in links later. Enjoy 🙂

PS- Couldn’t find Bruce’s Trumpets of Jericho, will see if I can upload it later. Just a little note about the bands-

  • Rainbow- Ritchie Blackmore( yep, the Deep Purple one) started the band; there were many many MANY line up changes, but I like the Dio years the best. The ones I’ve linked are mostly rock ballads, and really, Dio’s vocals are magical! He has got to be one of the best Metal vocalists ever. Check out his Sabbath years, as well as his solo stuff-Holy Diver (The video is so adorably corny 😀 ), Rainbow in the Dark etc.
  • Scorpions-well, they don’t need an introduction. Wish I’d been able to catch their gigs at B’lore and Bombay on the 16th(I think..) and 14th respectively. The vocalist is good, but not in the same league as Dio and Bruce, obviously 🙂 This is from their new album Humanity Hour.
  • Bruce’s solo stuff is mind blowing. Tyranny of Souls is readily available in Indian stores. Go buy! 😉 Oh yeah, for those who don’t know (shameless ignoramuses! 😛 )Bruce is Iron Maiden’s vocalist, commercial pilot, Olympic level fencer, author, radio jockey and soon-to-be screenplay writer 😀
  • The Iron Maiden stuff is from their earlier years. Some of this is probably going to be on the setlist for the Somewhere Back in Time tour. The live versions of Running Free and Revelations are from the 1985 Live After Death live compilations.
Comments»

1. arvind - December 23, 2007

i would appreciate links 😛

2. ish - December 23, 2007

It’s amazing but I haven’t heard even one song out of those lol. But I think I can try the Iron Maiden and the Scorpions ones. Maybe. Yeah I guess.

3. Vasudha - December 23, 2007

^ and i didnt comment cause i thought i was baaaad.heard um, humanity. ‘ssall. 😛

4. sporadicblogger - December 23, 2007

arvind- Some links up, rest coming right up 🙂
(Youtube and iJigg links)

ish- You’re a Coldplay fan, your blog reveals :p
Give Rainbow a try.

Vasudha- Hehehe, these songs are recent acquisitions(sort of) I don’t
really download too much…
What I said to Ish, I say to you too…you MUST give Rainbow a
listen 🙂

5. ish - December 23, 2007

Coldplay and Rainbow are on the same lines? … the Soft Rock genre I mean? I’m sorry but I’m too lazy and don’t watch YouTube vids or download songs unless I’m totally sure I’m gonna like them lol. But anyways, I will give Rainbow one shot.

6. sporadicblogger - December 23, 2007

Ish- I haven’t heard much Coldplay, not a fan of soft rock, but Rainbow is not hard rock, atleast not the ones I’ve linked. Temple of the King you must heard, as must you Catch the Rainbow. The other two might be more hard-rock.
Tell me what you think 🙂

PS-I’ve given my blog up for review. Whenever you have time… 🙂

7. sporadicblogger - December 23, 2007

*must hear, I mean.

8. ish - December 24, 2007

Yeah, I know you’ve given your blog to be reviewed but I’ve not been getting any time these days, y’ know board exams coming up and all that. I’ll review yours hopefully if I get any holidays around the new year.

And Rainbow is definitely not Hard Rock. They are very much on the Coldplay side of things. I heard Temple of the Kind. It sounds nice. I might as well try downloading some of their stuff when my internet connection regains it’s former glories.

9. sporadicblogger - December 24, 2007

ish- Hey! Don’t club Rainbow with Coldplay!!

And yeah, only when you have time!

10. ish - December 24, 2007

I’m not clubbing them really, but I found them similar. The opinion is based on only one song though, as I hear more of Rainbow, the differences will come out.

11. Nishant - December 25, 2007

little child. i see you remain ignorant of led zeppelin yet.

12. anon - December 26, 2007

check out bruce dickinson’s “acoustic song” on youtube

beautiful.

13. sporadicblogger - December 26, 2007

anon- Thanks for telling me, I didnt know about this one.

14. sporadicblogger - December 26, 2007

Nishant- No! I have houses of the holy, but I have no Zep on the comp, which is why I haven’t playlisted it 🙂

15. sporadicblogger - December 27, 2007

anon- I gave it a hear, but I don’t like it much. Bruce singing a sentimental song is just…wrong! 🙂

16. anon - December 28, 2007

see, that i don’t understand. why is it okay to talk about bravery and cowardice on the battlefield but not about love? most maiden/dickinson stuff is anyway pretty sentimental – how can you get more sentimental than paschendale, for instance – why this wall when it comes to personal stuff…

it’s not cheesy, like celine dion or anything. it’s probably about someone who was close to dickinson at some point in time and is no longer so. i’ve had this sort of thing happen to me, so i can relate to it. at least it sounds honest

another sentimental love song or whatever you like to call it that I like is the Velvet Underground’s pale blue eyes, with the immortal lines “Sometimes you make me happy, sometimes you make me sad, but most of all you just make me mad”

SO TRUE!

17. anon - December 28, 2007

you can also check out “darkness be my friend” by mr dickinson.

he does a sort of late 60’s psychedelic thing with what are called spare vocals. pretty magical.

it isn’t on youtube or anything that i know of. i purchased it from amazon.com. you need to be a US customer to be able to do this however.

18. sporadicblogger - December 28, 2007

anon- The failing is mine. I do not appreciate love songs. It is not a matter to be sung about, me feels. It sounds especially weird coming from Bruce although I do know that he’s a ‘softie’ 😀

And btw, do you know what it’s about? Could it be about his first marriage? Like Wildest Dreams is about ‘Arry moving on.

I’ll hunt out darkness, thanks again 🙂

19. anon - December 28, 2007

the wonders of youtube

there ya go…

i’ve heard this over and over again. my new favourite song.

20. sporadicblogger - December 29, 2007

anon-Gave it a hear 🙂 I think I just don’t like Bruce singing sentimental songs, his voice seems so horrible when he does that! Esp. this song. However, I seem to be the minority here, as the comments below the vid suggest…:)

21. kanishka - December 30, 2007

k – queensryche i see…hmm…

22. sporadicblogger - December 30, 2007

Kanishka-Yeah, I liked Jet City Woman and a few others before I got the Queensryche cd which is when I saw the lyrics…now I just listen to them without the lyrics 🙂

23. kanishka - December 31, 2007

oh no you can’t get away like that

look at operation:mindcrime’s lyrics

really…

*rolls eyes*

“is this all that’s left of my life before me? straight-jacket memories, sedative highs?”

24. sporadicblogger - December 31, 2007

Kanishka- Oh right…I still have to listen to that 🙂

25. kanishka - December 31, 2007

i’d recommend reading (or re-reading 1984, the book) before listening to the album.

otherwise the final song won’t make sense.

26. jnarin - February 26, 2008

No Dream Theater, Symphony X, Gordian Knot? 😛

Oh wait.. Those would be in my playlist. 🙂


Leave a Reply

