jump to navigation

January 29, 2008

Posted by K in Bus rides.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Bus rides will never cease to fascinate me. (Ofcourse, that might have a lot to do with the fact that I do not, in the ordinary way, depend upon buses in order to travel, but I like,and hope, to think my fascination for them is not entirely dependent upon my class position)

Today on my way to college, I found standing space next to a woman who was reading a book. It looked like a library book, and on peeking into it ( okay, now I do not normally pry into such stuff, but on a crowded bus, such things are fair game ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) I saw it was a religious book.

The strange thing about it was, or atleast, what struck me as strange, was that it was in English. And she was reading it out loud, mumbling to herself, unconcerned about the rest of the crowd.

I love coming across people who disappear into their own worlds in buses. I’ve seen it before. They read their religious books early in the morning, and tune out the noise and the bustle.

I wonder if I’d ever be able to do something as private in such a blatantly public space. I can’t even listen to music on buses! Apart from the noisome presence of conductors yelling out destinations, passengers pointedly asking for their change, others asking for thoda side etcetera, I just can’t seem to plug in my ears and drown out the world. I need the world, sometimes I hungrily suck it all in. I love how buses are, worlds seem to shrink and people aren’t strangers anymore.

Sometimes I wish it were possible for me to suspend myself in time and watch buses go by, both inside and outside of one. I would like to write…can you imagine the stories one can get from just half an hour of one bus ride?

(Yes, I do know the ugly side to buses and bus crowds, but perhaps because I have been fortunate to not have come across so many shitheads, I find myself focussing on its melting-potedness…)

Comments»

1. d - January 29, 2008

you do realize noisome means disgusting and not noisy?

2. aa - January 29, 2008

i’d say it’s a good word to describe bus life in delhi.

3. sporadicblogger - January 29, 2008

d-Actually I didn’t much think about it, I was coining a term to match the thought in my head. I do that a lot.
However, now that you point it out, it shall serve as a reminder of the weirdness of the language.

( PS-As aa said, noisome is muchly apt for delhi buses anyway)

4. arunabh - January 31, 2008

‘coming across people who disappear into their own worlds in buses’
Why would someone want to do that? Travelling is fun. Even more when it involves a bus. And even more when the bus is crowded ( and i am not talking about the ugly side to buses and bus crowds).
Its even better than the mumbai locals because you get to spend more time inside the bus . And yes, noisy but not noisome ๐Ÿ™‚

5. sporadicblogger - January 31, 2008

arunabh- Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess for those who take the daily bus it becomes more than travel. The novelty of it perhaps wears off down the years. It becomes more chore-like, whereby one is just looking for something to do while waiting for their destination…

As for noisy-noisome… ๐Ÿ™‚ when I used the word I was basically using ‘noise’ in a manner that appealed to me. I was consciously creating another word for its feel rather than it being a case of mistaken meaning ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

