jump to navigation

El Stupido January 19, 2008

Posted by K in Diary.
trackback

I just did the most incredibly asinine thing.

I gave the address of my blog to my interviewer (Yep, I am sitting for placements). I mentioned the blog on my CV, she asked, and like a fool I gave it. It did not strike me that this was a potential professional situation/relation and I am not sure I want to be judged by my blog. It is me, indeed, but to what extent can only be known by me and those who know me.

These days I know the issues of blogs pose a problem of professional etiquette- are the employees bitching about the company or giving away important information, is the Boss reading your blog and allowing it to interfere with her/his view of the professional impression you create?

I think it is inevitable. That blogs would influence the opinions of near strangers. Which is why when I work, I will never reveal my identity or the identity of my blog.

And I hope she forgets mine!

Comments»

1. Vasudha - January 19, 2008

Won’t your interviewer be reading this? ๐Ÿ˜›

2. sporadicblogger - January 19, 2008

Well, I am hoping not!!

Or if she is, then I shall pretend she is not! ๐Ÿ™‚

3. ish - January 20, 2008

Interviewer: If you’re reading this, she’s a good girl and totally deserves the job y’know. You can take my word for that.

@Sporadic: You’re doomed. ๐Ÿ˜› Okay just kidding, and I hope she doesn’t read all this.

4. sporadicblogger - January 20, 2008

Ish- ๐Ÿ˜€

5. anonymouse - January 21, 2008

If I had an open position suitable for you, I would make a job offer :). (We have positions, they just aren’t worthy of you).

6. sporadicblogger - January 21, 2008

anonymouse- ๐Ÿ˜€ What kind of work do you do?


Leave a Reply

