jump to navigation

Kerala-God’s Own Country January 11, 2008

Posted by K in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Crispy fingers steepled at the nose.

Nah. Fingers can’t be crispy.

I wonder why Kerala advertises it’s godly shores by making exotic videos of firangs being indulged by Mallu(presumably) masseurs. I would get it if these ads were being screened abroad, but what’s the logic when it’s screened within Incredible India?

Kerala Government- You are telling me Kerala is the place foreigners go to indulge and unwind. Where do I(and why do I), a homegrown, homestaying, Indian go?

Comments»

1. ish - January 11, 2008

Genuinely speaking I’ve always found all the !incredible !ndia ad’s utterly non sensical. They don’t know what they should be advertising. Only the ad’s they make for Goa are something good. I saw one for Maharashtra the other day, it was showing Vilas Rao Deshmukh. So you’re trying to tell me that I should go to Mumbai to see Mr. Deshmukh and not Gateway of India? Yea, right.

2. hot donkey - January 12, 2008

easy answer

stay at home! *cheeky grin*

obviously the kerala tourism board doesn’t want INDIANS to go to kerala what with their low propensity to spend and all…

3. pr3rna - January 12, 2008

A very good question Sporadic.If you find an answer to this please post it.

4. Vasudha - January 12, 2008

Maybe they think they’re using the me-too syndrome, coupled with the supposed inferiority complex we have of foreigners. You know the deal,
Oh, “foreigners” go to Kerala, so it has to be this great, great place, very “in”, so I should go too.

Yes, it is a great place, but that’s not why I would go there. Especially since the whole Incredible India campaign is to do with India being a naturally beautiful, tradition bound yet modern country that is “progressing”.Because I wouldn’t call still thinking of ourselves inferior as progress.

5. robertjerome - January 14, 2008

Yes, I saw an Indian man and woman getting married in New York City. Aren’t there any nice places to get married in India? I thought. They have to come all the way over to our country as if it’s some exotic place. Weird.

http://www.robertjerome.wordpress.com

6. sporadicblogger - January 15, 2008

Ish- I must youtube for that one…

hot donkey- Hello and welcome. The tourism dept. thinks strangely then…Indians tend to spend a lot while on holiday.

Aunty- I definitely will 🙂

Vasudha- Exactly 🙂

robertjerome- Hello and welcome. That depends- did they live in NY? But yes, the mind is not yet completely decolonised…


Leave a Reply

