jump to navigation

January 6, 2008

Posted by K in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

I was clicking pictures in my sleep

An effort to capture dream-reality?

As usual the button got stuck

And the dream entered meta-reality

‘I dream this happens often in my sleep’

The battery must be low

There’s a socket in the ’plane.

Such images, perfect in composability

Flash past my rickshaw ride

-Twenty-I’ll pay for you-

Depress the shutter

But it’s no use

I can’t click pictures in my sleep.

Comments»

1. KnotKeats - January 8, 2008

Very good. I think I’ve experienced what you refer to as “meta-reality.” You are in a dream and something goes wrong with it, so you try to fix it, as though you know you are in a dream, or in some artificiality that you can control in some way. Sometimes you know it’s a dream you are in, and sometimes not.

As usual, your imagery and word choice is effortless and excellent.

2. Nidhi - January 9, 2008

lovely…it often happens that you can ‘Direct’ you dreams, i do that pretty often…and avoid nightmares…its like casting a ‘Ridikulus’…

3. sporadicblogger - January 9, 2008

Knotkeats-Yes, thats it 🙂 And thank you…like I said, you are too generous.

Nidhi- You are a lucky girl. I can count on my eyelashes the no. of times I have been able to direct a dream 🙂 The flying ones are more directable generally for me…what about you?

4. KnotKeats - January 10, 2008

It has been ages since I’ve experimented with directed dreaming. Like a lot of things, I had quick initial success but found it difficult to build on.

The technique I followed was that as I lay in bed about to fall asleep, I would think about something common and familiar, like getting ready to make a call on my cell phone, and I would tell myself, “When this happens in a dream, I will remember that I told myself that I would be aware that I am dreaming when it happens.”

I don’t recall the details. It was described in a book by Carlos Castaneda (either a great visionary or a great con artist). But it did work. I would find myself dreaming and when I picked up my cell phone I would think, “I’m supposed to remember that this is just a dream when I do this.”

After just learning to be aware that you are dreaming, you tell yourself to do something, like “When I’m making a call on my cell phone, call my best friend.”

Those first two steps are about as far as I ever got – becoming aware that I was dreaming and performing some simple action.

As I said, the first steps were pretty easy. Beyond that I didn’t make any progress.

5. sporadicblogger - January 10, 2008

Knotkeats- Thats an interesting idea and concept…never tried it. I dunno if I have the willpower to will it, though…:)

6. samanthamj - January 21, 2008

Great poem… and cool topic. I use to have dreams a lot where I could fly – but, then would fly to high… or not be able to do it again.. I actually did learn to control it somehow better in my dreams..

Also… once, I had very vivid dream when I was a teenager… where I was walking along with a group of kids, towards a scary destination… and I said to them all, “It’s okay.. by the time we get there, I will need to wake up”. It was so weird… to know in my dream that it was a dream… I always remember that… and don’t think it ever happened so clearly again…

~smj

7. sporadicblogger - January 21, 2008

smj- Hello 🙂 Thanks for commenting! I know what you mean about flying too high…it’s only been a couple of times or so that I have been able to enjoy dream flying, when it’s been just right 🙂


Leave a Reply

