jump to navigation

December 29, 2007

Posted by K in Nonsense.
trackback

There was a rumble in the sky and all the children ran out to see where it came from. Boys and girls, all in tattered remains of clothing, some chewing sugarcane, some chewing hair.

The rumble grew louder and a shadow began spreading over the sky. The boy with the bald head spat out his bit of sugarcane, and watched. The girl chewing on dry, brown hair grabbed the plant next to her and watched. They all watched, goggled eyed, mouths slowly opening out. Little statues, as the shadow became opaque.

The youngest among them, a little boy who liked to think he was a girl, squeaked out “Ma…!” But I don’t think his mother heard him.

I don’t think anyone above the age of 16 heard him or the rumble. Boom boom boom. Sonic filters that filtered out the able bodied populace of the tiny little village in the middle of nowhere.

Suddenly a rich black cloth descended towards earth. The children watched, transfixed, as it enveloped them all, and began to ooze blackness…into their eyes, into their thoughts, until they no longer remembered anything.

The rumble grew louder, the sky grew lighter, until, all of a sudden, the light burst through.

When the parents, grandparents, siblings came back in the evening, all they saw were strands of spit-covered hair, and chewed up bits of sugarcane.

Mothers clutched at their hair and screamed out their names. Fathers rode out to the forests. Brothers and sisters picked up toys, not sure whether to laugh or cry.

As for the opaque sky…it had gone forever.

Comments»

1. pallavi - December 29, 2007

oye i love the way you write SO brilliant , great piece this.

2. sporadicblogger - December 29, 2007

Thanks but thats obviously because you are not being objective here! :p

3. ish - December 29, 2007

Nicely written. Can I ask what made you write about this..surely there must be some kind of situation or inspiration?

I like the way you described the blackness.

4. Vasudha - December 30, 2007

I thought it might be a satire on the loss of childhood, the spurting up of growth till I saw the tag. :p
Even then, like most of your pieces, its pretty engaging, the kinda stuff that makes me think, ” Hell, it might be under nonsense, but I WILL read it!” 🙂

5. sporadicblogger - December 31, 2007

Ish- Thank you 🙂 I’m not sure what made me write this. Generally when I write, I just feel a compulsion to put down words on paper/word and the images spill over and keep spilling till I’m done. I don’t have an agenda when I begin, and I don’t know how it ends. Its quite like an urge to sneeze 🙂

Vasudha- It could just be that 🙂 Except I’m too brainless to actually write with a proper agenda 🙂
I actually had high hopes for this one, except, I left it midway to check mail…and lost the thread of ‘inspiration’ 🙂 Which is why it has such a weird ending and the reason I tagged it under ‘nonsense’

6. ish - December 31, 2007

Lol, I never noticed the tag. I took it too seriously. 😛

7. sporadicblogger - December 31, 2007

I value Non-Sense 🙂

8. ish - December 31, 2007

It’s valuable. It’s the seventh sense after all and not may people are capable of having it.

9. ish - December 31, 2007

not many *

10. Vasudha - December 31, 2007

Ooh, come on! Too brainless and ending up in LSR? Nah, I think not. 🙂

11. sporadicblogger - December 31, 2007

Vasudha- You’d be surprised…there are a lot of braindead people in LSR 😉

12. Bookmarks Tagged Opaque - January 1, 2008

[…] bookmarks tagged opaque There was a rumble in the sky and all the children… saved by 1 others     fl0werina bookmarked on 12/31/07 | […]

13. kanishka - January 1, 2008

the loss of youth isn’t it what was on your mind when you were writing this?

older people contemplating the death of the young, or some such thing

14. sporadicblogger - January 1, 2008

No 🙂 Only the images were in my mind, of the children, of the sky, and a sense of loss, oppressive and heavy at the same time.

15. jnarin - January 2, 2008

Hmmm..


Leave a Reply

