jump to navigation

More Nonsense Poetry September 15, 2007

Posted by K in Copyright Infringemnt, Lyrics, Music, Nonsense, Poem.
trackback

My love affair with nonsense poetry continues. Sample these gems from The Nation’s Favourite Comic Poems

 

Gelett Burgess wrote the Purple Cow

 

I never saw a Purple Cow,

I never hope to see one;

But I can tell you, anyhow,

I’d rather see than be one.

 

Some years later he wrote again:

 

Ah yes! I wrote the ‘Purple Cow’-

I’m sorry, now, I Wrote it!

But I can Tell you, Anyhow,

I’ll Kill you if you Quote it!

 

This one from Hilaire Belloc-

 

Lord Finchley

Lord Finchley tried to mend the Electric Light

Himself. It struck him dead: And serve him right!

It is the business of the wealthy man

To give employment to the artisan.

 

By John Hegley-

 

In the Arms of my Glasses

they can call me softy

as ofty

as they please

but still I’ll stand by these

my little optical accessories

as they stop me walking into lamposts

and trees

when it’s foggy

and I’m out walking with my doggie

 

 

This is my favourite-

 

Spring in the Bronx

-Anon

Spring is sprung,

Duh grass is riz

I wonder where dem boidies is.

Duh little boids is on duh wing-

But dat’s absoid:

Duh little wing is on duh boid.

Comments»

1. pallavi - September 16, 2007

gems indeed ! thanks for putting them up 🙂 i love it has made me haffy !!

2. sporadicblogger - September 16, 2007

Hehe, I’ll show you the book tomorrow:D

3. Sreejith - September 19, 2007

this cracked me up…. i am in splits :))


Leave a Reply

