jump to navigation

May 31, 2007

Posted by K in Abstract Ramblings, Diary.
trackback

It’s 2 o’clock at night and I’m really very bored, so I thought I ought to rediscover the art of blogging. I haven’t really blogged for about a month. Or maybe more. Depends on what ‘really blogging’ means.

This is going to be an abstract ramble, because I really have nothing intelligent to say. The holidays do this to me. Sigh, I’m a disgrace to studentkind. I don’t blossom and bloom when freed of education.

I’ve been trying to get people to start blogs. I’m not sure why. I think it has something to do with how I now hold the art in high esteem πŸ™‚ It is a really good medium to say things. Perhaps not say say, but its a start. I like to read what people have to say.

I’ve never loved Delhi. Its always felt cold, and disconnected somehow. I’ve never smiled when I’ve come back from a vacation and said city,home city. However I think I feel that changing. The trip that Pallavi, Vaishnavi and I took to Daryaganj had something to do with it. All that walking, taking rickshaws, the metro, the jaunt in CP with Pallavi, the walking around in circles looking for the spot where 56 stopped, accidentally discovering Yamoos(or is it Yamus?), the kind shop owner of Yamoos who did not turn us out despite the mess I made with my chuski, and then the stick…I think I got a feel of the city that day. And I’m glad. It’s nice to feel at home in a place that has literally been my home for the past 19 years.

Not for too long though. Graduation is a year away. I keep vacillating mentally about what I want to do beyond college, but being true to myself, I can never decide. I do know this much, however; whatever I decide to study, I know it shall not be in Delhi. Its been a long association, and the time has come to end it. I literally DO want to see the world. Starting with Pune, where hopefully I will luck out and be one of the 6 students FTII picks from the general category.

Film-making, that is what the mind is keen on, currently. Its a scary prospect, because I have no experience and I know I’m,hehe, anything but an expert, but something tells me I will be unhappy with a conventional, 9-5 desk job. I need something that makes me use my imaginition…it’s one of the only bits of me that works πŸ™‚

I haven’t read anything in weeks. Other than the odd William story. It is quite a strange situation…I don’t think I have gone without a book for so long ever in my life.

I remember how during the Boards I was so proud of myself when I didn’t touch a (non-academic) book for a whole day. I would see book lying around and I would clench my fists and turn around; I didn’t want to physicallyΒ  remove them from sight, I was afraid that once in my hands, however temporarily, I wouldn’t be able to stop myself.

Now, however, I have no desire to read. I have a Holt, the Hitchhiker’s Guide, a Social History of Rock n Roll, two random books, a Marquez, the Simoqin Prophesies all lying in front of my eyes. And I don’t feel the desire to pick up even one of them. I hope this passes. Soon!

It is now 2:15, and I don’t think I am going anywhere. Maybe I should just stop. πŸ™‚

Everything

From all around

Swirling, piling

Misting.

A stupid step

That had to be taken

Look, I wait for a muddy boot.

Comments»

1. RT - May 31, 2007

aaahh .. u can only feel like reading books when u have exams coming up .. i have mine in less than a week (which decide whether i finally get to be an engineer 😐 ) and here i am .. searching for blogs to read .. trying NOT to think what my next blog will be about and reading e-books coz all my hardcovers lie read 😐

And its funny .. Del’s my hometown but i have hardly spent time there .. yet i am compelled to come back .. dunno why .. maybe coz i’ve been away for sooo long now.
And yeah .. Pune’s a great city .. a small, comparitively quiet place .. but am not sure u will like it much (pssst .. i hate it for the fact that u can cover the entire city in 2 days and feel that it wasn’t worth the time 😐 .. and there are other reasons which i shouldn’t be writing publicly πŸ˜‰ ) but otherwise i love it equally as its my other hometown πŸ˜‰ and yeah .. i guess u need a break from home πŸ˜‰

and chuski khaane ka maza toh dilli mein hi hai janaab πŸ˜€ pune mein nahi .. humse poochiye 😦
and bestos with FTII.

2. RT - May 31, 2007

ohh and blogging/blog searching/blog reading/pestering people to blog .. i lubbb it πŸ˜€
PS: sowwie .. i read too closely sometimes πŸ˜‰

3. Keshav - May 31, 2007

you LIKED the Semoqin Prophecies? I couldnt understand past the first page!

4. anonymouse - May 31, 2007

The Simoquin Prophecies is a rather well done Indianisation of PTerry.

I don’t like Pune too much, it’s waaay to small a city for me. The FTII is good though (Dad’s a FTII grad).

You’ll probably miss Delhi once you have spent a few years away.

5. Indrani - May 31, 2007

I loved the Simoquin Prophecies !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And the Manticore’s Secret !!!!!!!!!!! Yayee !!!!!!!!! And I’m off to Pune soon ! Oi ! When are you coming over to me place ????????? WHICH weekend ???????? Waaaaaaaahhhhhhhh

6. C&B - June 2, 2007

film making and all. me jealous.

perhaps, if you want the feel of what a city is, you should skip the randomly hashed together places you’ve been going to, and give calcutta a shot.

7. anonymouse - June 2, 2007

Calcutta is a nice city. One of the few Indian cities I truly like.

8. Greg Landheim - June 3, 2007

Is that the boot you get muddy with your first step when you set forth on your travels?

9. scribbler - June 5, 2007

After Delhi, you might find Pune too small. But in its own way, its rather quaint. Especially the FTII campus. Its really lovely

10. sporadicblogger - June 20, 2007

Sorry, I’ve been away a while πŸ™‚

RT-Thanks for dropping by πŸ™‚ I had written out a comment, but wordpress gobbled it up and I cannot find it anymore.
True enough, the place for chuski is Delhi πŸ™‚

Keshav- I haven’t read it as yet, but I think you will like it more if you understand bengali πŸ™‚ There are subtle little jokes here and there…

anonymouse- too small? I like small places πŸ™‚ Not fond of big cities. Your father’s an FTII graduate? 0_0 Wow, you can give me some pointers then πŸ˜€

Indrani-just did πŸ˜‰ Have fun in Pune and Bombay πŸ™‚

C&B- Calcutta is my hometown, and although I hated it earlier, I like it very much now. It gives me a warm feeling, but i dont think I could live there permanently πŸ™‚

Greg- Yes it is πŸ™‚ On my physical travels as well as mental ones. And the boot did not get muddy, I was afraid it might πŸ™‚

Scribbler- You echo what RTand anonymouse say πŸ™‚ I have never been to Pune, but I really think that small places are more my kind…

11. anonymouse - June 20, 2007

Hmmm, Pune isn’t exactly small, it’s the closed, small town attitude which gets to me. Of course, I felt the same way about Bangalore, Chennai is constricting, Delhi is tolerable. Kolkata and Mumbai are good enough for me.

I prefer the open minds attitudes of people in the two major cities.

12. jnarin - June 21, 2007

I know the feeling when you just don’t feel like writing anything. It takes a while, and then one comes back with a great post. πŸ˜€

Good luck with all your endeavors, and whatever they may be, don’t stop blogging. πŸ™‚

13. sporadicblogger - June 21, 2007

anonymouse- oh dear, small minded attitude? Pune people have a small minded attitude? What do you mean by that? I’m surprised you didnt think Kolkata people had small minded attitude.

jnarin-thank you πŸ™‚

14. anonymouse - June 22, 2007

A small town, close minded attitude. Think of the Shiv Sena in Maharashtra, or your local equivalents. The moral police. Those who refuse to stay out of their neighbours lives.

I have to admit that Pune is extremely liberal with education, it’s just the lack of respect for personal space which gets to me. Plus, the lack of infrastructure sucks even worse.

15. sporadicblogger - June 22, 2007

I wasn’t aware of this.
You travel a fair bit, don’t you? : ) I’ve only ever lived in Delhi, so I know the Delhi attitude is something I can take a break from. All this is assuming,lol, that I actually study at Pune. They may just show me the door and tell me to never show my face again πŸ˜€

16. anonymouse - June 22, 2007

I haven’t travelled enough yet. We know a lot of people in Pune, I have lived in Surat and Bangalore, and visited a lot of other places. My work also requires me to correspond with a lot of other people, so I get to know about other places in general.

Plus, Mumbai is a great place to watch people without actively intruding into their lives.

17. anonymouse - June 22, 2007

You need to live for a few years in other, more liberal places. Then you will realise how bad small town attitudes are.


Leave a Reply

