jump to navigation

May 13, 2007

Posted by K in Diary.
trackback

Bah. I succumb. I shall be prettying up my (non-existant) CV and doing the rounds with Pallavi(I would link to her blog, except that she’s pulled it off. Bad Pallavi.)  on Tuesday.

I’m not very good at being officially idle. Idleness comes naturally when there is work to do, but when its sanctioned…I get morose and ugly. Ask my family 😛

Hopefully some children’s magazine will deem me fit enough to work with them. I want to work for a childrens mag. Or a children’s library. Not that I like children particularly (snot nosed ill-behaved creatures who drool over your chair when you are attempting to eat) They are okay as a species, some are even kosher (intentional use of bad usage) and only the tiniest number are kindred spirits. However, children’s literature I love. I like it when adults attempt to be children. Adults make childhood out to be rosier than it is. Adults as children are far more successful (and appealing) than actual children.

Children’s World probably has NO internship system. I shall try my luck nonetheless. Worst comes to worst I can go peek into the BC Roy library and pretend I’m under 18. They only allow in under-18s. Parents are firmly told to please relocate to an adult room. If any under-18 reads this blawg and even occassionally visits delhi, I’d recommend a membership. This is one amazing library.

Comments»

1. Indrani - May 13, 2007

Hehe… I was so stupid about Tehelka, wasn’t I. 😦
And why did she pull it off ????? And children’s literature 🙂

2. Vasudha - May 14, 2007

Hmm….I thought BC Roy was for under 16s….so that means I was getting jitters about my membership expiring this year unnecessarily!
Yaypie! 😀

3. sporadicblogger - May 14, 2007

@Indrani-what happened? Did you go? And she’s getting another one 🙂

@Vasudha- is it? Maybe I’m making a mistake…Enjoy it while youre still there 🙂

4. Indrani - May 14, 2007

Ohhh… Cool 🙂 🙂
And no, I just mailed them 🙂
I was too scared 😀

5. sporadicblogger - May 15, 2007

You must GO! 🙂

6. Harshita - May 17, 2007

Dude, I used to haunt BC Roy! The librarians there know me and have grown to indulge me! I haven’t gone there in so long… being ‘child’ no more, that is 😦
And yayyyyyyyy for Children’s World! I

7. Harshita - May 17, 2007

Also- there’s this place called ‘Room to Read’ in east of kailash, that was recently holding a writing-for-kids story competition. I went there, and they had quite a display/collection of folk literature for children and all. The number I have is of this lady called Madhavi Menon who works there, 9811775560.

8. Harshita - May 17, 2007

Er, hi. I’m in the Pol Sc dept, and I’m friends with Indrani… you and I have interacted but I’m not sure you know my name :/
Nice blog 🙂

9. sporadicblogger - May 18, 2007

@ Harshita-hi! Thanks for visiting and the nice comments 🙂
I’m sure I’ll recognise you when I see you. I must go to that place in East of Kailash, sounds interesting!
yes, BC Roy library is heavenly! I went there on wednesday, and i wanted to cry because i can’t go there anymore 😦


Leave a Reply

