jump to navigation

I haven’t played in a while April 16, 2007

Posted by K in Abstract Ramblings, Diary, Extreme Nostalgia.
trackback

 I should be studying Sartre and Neitzsche and their brothers in arms, but I thought I’d do this instead.

It suddenly struck me that I haven’t played in quite a while. Infact, I don’t think I’ve played since I left school. Sure, I go for NSO, but I haven’t had any fun there.

I used to be a compulsive player in school. Not a serious sportsperson, mind, but a player. The sports periods used to be one of the things I lived for, and every two minutes (or more, depending on which school I was en 😉 ) we got between classes, or even a sort-of-free period, we played. In Shri Ram it was wall ‘squash’, or ‘table tennis’ or ‘football’ or ‘cricket’, or we just ran down to the (huge!) sports field which was right behind Cluster B, the senior block.

In sanskriti, the sports facilities were pretty bad, and enthusiasm levels were pretty low. We had to argue for cricket equipment almost every time. Thus classroom ‘sports’ became my personal saviour. Here we played footsie/sockey. Footsie/sockey is an interesting game. You denude a chair of one of its rubber shoes, check if its heavy enough, and pretend its a football/hockey puck. You stand two goalies at two ends and try to kick the puck in. If you score, you tabulate.

I liked goaly-ing. I used to stand around and just stick my foot out. My foot stopped all goals. My foot was a good goaly, haha 😀 I even have a souvenir from those days; one of my toe nails is shorter than another. Aditya’s foot had an unexpected meeting with my toe while he was mid kick. And Aditya kicks hard . lol.

The footsie/sockey used to irritate most teachers, but they bore with us…most of the times 😀 Ofcourse, when we moved up to Class 12, it wasn’t possible to continue because the rooms were smaller. The gardens came in handy then. It was actually possible to play cricket/football with actual cricket/football equipment.

Sigh.

Comments»

1. Vasudha - April 16, 2007

Hmm….footsie/sockey is SO much fun, played it for a bit with my cousins 😀 Hadta stop when I got chucked out for scoring for the opposition by mistake.My bad.Lol.

oh & you’ve been linked 🙂

2. sporadicblogger - April 16, 2007

Heh heh 😀

Oh thank you 🙂 Been thinking of linking you…interesting blog!

3. Indrani - April 18, 2007

I liked !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now i HAVE to see the toe 🙂

4. sporadicblogger - April 19, 2007

hehe 😀


Leave a Reply

