jump to navigation

Tibbles the Cat April 13, 2007

Posted by K in Abstract Ramblings, Diary.
trackback

Worries about nouns. Well, I shall post that up later. Don’t hold your breath though, its as bad as they come, heheh. I don’t know why I delight in writing horrible ‘poems’, but I do 😀

I *drumroll,please* stayed up all night yesterday. Reading Mr. Bradley and appreciating Ronny James Dio. That would have been a She-Girl feat had I not spent large parts of yesterday sleeping 🙂 . I think I shall make this a habit; I sleep too much durng the day anyway. And its nice to hear the birds around four o’clock in the morning.

T his blog has turned into a journal. Sheesh. I promise to remedy that as soon as exams get over.

Oh, and I’m not sure I like Mr. Bradley’s work much. Its quite generalised. He states some very obvious things, and one doesn’t get anything concrete out of it…atleast not out of the Antony and Cleopatra criticism he’s done in Works of Poetry, or whatever it’s called. I liked his Othello stuff better.

One fellow whose Shakespeare criticism I really like if an Alexander Leggatt. I happened to pick up his critisism of Shakespeare’s Comedies in the EDL (entirely accidentally, I might add 😀 ), fell in love, and when I went to return my (long!) overdue books at the BCL, I found his work on Shakespeare’s tragedies. Othello. I love it!:) He has a way of making precise, clear arguments which make you think ‘now why didn’t that occur to me??’ His way of illustrating most of his arguments with excerpts from the dialogue also makes it a great piece of work to study with an exam point of view.

Oh well, back to the books. And ice-cream. Lots of chocochip ice-cream 😀

Comments»

1. glandheim - April 18, 2007

I had a fabulous Shakespeare instructor at university. I was in Boston, and we got extra credit for going to live performances. That was when I really discovered how many colleges there are in Boston. I must have seen 8 or 10 live plays, only one of which was professional, in one semester.

“A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” was interpreted as an erotic fantasy in the performance at Wellesley College. As a 21-year old horny male I could barely stand to watch it. All the lovely girls….

I wish I could remember my instructor’s name. He was one of those world-famous critics. But I’m overdrawn at the memory bank again. His lectures were performances. He drew his students out, and engaged us in conversation. It was loads of fun.

For some reason, Othello was my favorite play for years and years. I preferred the tragedies back then. Now I think I might go for “The Tempest,” or even “Midsummer Night…”

I used to say that I couldn’t understand why everybody thought Shakespeare was so great. “Everything he wrote,” I would say, “was a cliche.” Nobody but me ever thought that was funny. I wonder why.

2. glandheim - April 18, 2007

Sorry for double-commenting. I forgot to mention that I saw “Rosencrantz & Guildenstern are Dead,” during that time. If you haven’t seen the play, there’s a film version with Gary Oldman and Tim Roth. It’s available on DVD.

3. sporadicblogger - April 18, 2007

Hi, thanks for commenting 🙂

I too used to say, till,er, a few weeks back 🙂 , that I couldn’t see what was so great about Shakespeare. Then I read the plays PROPERLY, the ones in my syllabus, that is.. and fell in love. Shakespeare is great..though I havent seen any play. I should try it, but I dont think I’ll be a play person. Dont know why I feel that way, but I do.

I’ve heard of Rosencrantz & Guildenstern are Dead. I think I saw the dvd in a library.

4. glandheim - April 19, 2007

Hmm. You didn’t think my joke was funny either. I LOVE Shakespeare. It’s rare to live someplace where a lot of performances are being done. Strangely enough, there’s a town about 45 miles north of me that’s been doing an annual Shakespeare festival for probably 40 years. They do about a half-dozen plays every year, some in regular stage theaters, some in a reproduction of the Globe.

There is absolutely nothing like seeing Shakespeare live, on the stage. What the director and the actors bring in terms of interpretation can make you see a play in an entirely different way. And live performances versus watching a movie cannot be compared.

That said, there are a lot of good movie versions of lots of plays. If your library is any good, you can probably find a lot of them there. Elizabeth Taylor and Richard Burton’s “Taming of the Shrew” was classic. Laurence Olivier’s “Othello” is heart-breaking, although watching Olivier in black face makeup playing a dark moor is a little difficult to believe at the beginning.

There was a film version of “Lear” done in the early 70s…IMDB sez Peter Brooks, director, 1971. I see that it is B&W. I don’t remember it that way, but it’s the only one that fits the time frame. The interpretation was very controversial.

It’s a great way to killl a rainy day.

5. sporadicblogger - April 20, 2007

I have the Orson Welles Othello. The sound quality is horrible, but the film is so great, that you don’t need the sound. The music and the acting is superb.
I also saw a great Julius Caesar(or was it called Cleopatra) on Hallmark. The acting was great, and I liked the treatment of Cleopatra as well.

Have you seen Stage Beauty? Not Shakespearan, but interesting to watch nonetheless. Reflecting the cross dressing issue and other changes taking place on the Elizabethean Stage.

6. glandheim - April 20, 2007

I loved Stage Beauty! Shakespeare in Love was good, but too hollywoodish. Stage Beauty kept the indie edge, and felt a lot more real.

It’s not anywhere like Shakespeare, but in terms of cross-dressing actors, “Farewell My Concubine” was fabulous. A great tragedy, incredibly well acted, great sweeping historical scope focussed on two traditional Chinese opera performers, before and after the revolution. It’s a “must-see.”

7. sporadicblogger - April 20, 2007

Thank you, I’ll keep that in mind 🙂


Leave a Reply

