jump to navigation

I Change my Blogging Tactics February 25, 2007

Posted by K in Abstract Ramblings, Diary, Nonsense.
trackback

Ah, this blog needs some tender attention. I’ve been getting bored of some of the things that I post here, which Smita tels me appears ‘intellectual’. I hate to deceive, so my randomness will get no chance to pass of as the produce of intellegentsia, atleast for a week, as I chronicle my life. Boring as that will be for my few but well beloved readers πŸ™‚ it will be something I’ve never done, atleast not consistently. I’ve caged my reality in faction sometimes, but its never been Out There. So, here goes.

Sunday, 17:26.

I was out of bed fairly quickly considering I went to be around 2:30 AM last night. What was I doing up till then, you might ask, especially as the net and tv are inaccessible at that time. I was Experimenting. Hee. Two if my friends went off to a photography workshop for two days, and Jess was Delighted with the results πŸ™‚ As always, her enthusiasm rubs off on me, and I plagiarised her instructor(what do you call workshop takers?) idea of taking candlelight photos. So I waited for the family to go to bed, and set a candle on the table and proceeded to see what it did to the bamboo plant in front of it. I took some 144 photos, of which I now retain 5-6. Yes. I am talented. lol.

I, ofcourse, ran out of battery after the first few shots. It always happens. Everytime I’m all excited about shooting something wacko, the battery decides to run out. A Sign, do I hear you say? πŸ˜€

Anyway, while the battery charged, I attempted to Study. Yes, that needed to be capslocked because it’s a phenomenon that is becoming extremely rare in KL’s life. I managed a few academic words before the charger had done enough work to sustain a few 100 shots. And then I went to bed. I, ofcourse, put the alarm for 7 in the morning; why I bother I don’t even know. I never really get up.

Coming back to today, I can’t remember what I did. I recall a post-waking up nap sometime around mid morning, and a half hearted attempt to study, but thats it. I worked on my Artemis Fowl paper, experimented with my newly gifted dowser(amethyst), ate lots of Duke’s cooking chocolate…and procastinated about my Jacobean Drama project.

So for today, thats it folks πŸ™‚ I promise to bore you in a similar vein till next sunday. Hope the week treats you well πŸ˜€

Comments»

1. Nishant Jain - February 26, 2007

whats with all the smileys i say??

2. sporadicblogger - February 26, 2007

I tend to smiley a lot on the net…:)

3. glandheim - February 28, 2007

‘s funny. I followed a link today and saw a beautiful picture of a candle. It took me a moment to realize what I was looking at. I wonder if it was at your friend’s site.

I used to love candles. I liked to do candle meditations in the dark, with mirrors set behind the candles. I can’t say that it was very enlightening, but it certainly took my mind to some interesting places. I saw images of myself that were sometimes frightening and sometimes brought tears to my eyes. Sometimes they did both, and sometimes I broke down into hysterical laughter.

Life can be so much fun when you keep your expectations low.

Do you ever encounter dust devils where you live? I have always been amazed to watch one twist its way across a dirt field, encounter a paved road and drop everything, only to invisibly cross the road and pick up a new load to make it visible on the other side.

How can you not believe that the world is alive when you meet a dust devil?

I got curious about your infatuation with Irom Maiden. Found a web site that let me listen to fragments of songs from their various albums. Don’t get me wrong, they are a quintessential heavy metal band. But what about them distinguishes them from any of a dozen other bands? What makes them stand out for you? For me, they are interchangeable with any of a dozen others, just give me enough to smoke and drink and I’ll enjoy it. And turn the volume way, way up.

4. sporadicblogger - February 28, 2007

Hi again πŸ™‚ I’ll answer the last bit of your comment, the rest I need to think about a bit.
Maiden. Hm. What started off as an infatuation turned to love within months. It was funny how it started- used to dislike music, as for some reason pop music and music vids were all that I associated with it(and I HATE pop music πŸ™‚ ) Then a friend accidentally turned up at my 14th birthday with Maiden’s Brave New World. She wasn’t a big fan; she just picked it up. I put the cassette away, as I did ‘do’ music. Then one say in september I was bored and needed something to push me to finish my math homework, so I thought why not check out the cassette. So in it went in my ancient tape deck, and the first thing that hit me was-wow! thats not like pop music AT ALL,lol. I liked the vocalist, I liked the music, and I really really liked the lyrics. The lyrics make you think, they’re not silly, and I’m a sucker for those kind πŸ™‚ I listened to nothing but Brave New World for a year, fell more and more in love with it, until I eventually bought all the albums.
Most people don’t get why I like maiden or metal. They think I’m not the ‘type’. But I am, really. I like heavy melodies, which all NWOBHM bands have, I like lyrics to have some meaning, and NOT be about love/sex/drugs etc. I like my vocalist to sing, not growl or simper. I like the music to not feel pseudo. Maiden has all that πŸ™‚ I would recommend you borrow Brave New World, or Seventh Son of a Seventh Son from somebody and give it a listen. Clips will never do it for you because most maiden songs are 5 mins+. Their epics are 8 min, 13 min etc. When I listen to maiden, I feel I’ve come home.
Which bands do you feel they are interchangeable with? I can understand if they’re NWOBHM, but I’m curious about the others.

5. glandheim - March 7, 2007

Def Leppard, Ozzy Ozborne, Black Sabbath, Metallica, to name a few. But to be honest, I haven’t actually listened to heavy metal since the days of Led Zepplin, Hendrix and Queen. I liked Kiss when they first started out, too.

I guess heavy metal became, for me, just background music at noisy, loud, intoxicated parties with too many people.

I’m also not a “Type A” personality anymore. I’m a lot more laid back, and it’s reflected in my music taste. I tend to listen mostly to female vocalists. I love cabaret music. And here I am living in a one-bar town. Not a decent piano bar to go to and listen to a decent singer.

You did answer the question, though, and very well. Back when I was a Deadhead I don’t think I could have explained why I liked the Dead so much.

I’ve made a note to myself to try “Brave New World.” My office stereo won’t handle it. I think the speakers max out at about 50 watts per channel, which is fine for what I listen to. But my Klipsch surround system will. Those horns are great for heavy metal.

I think a good argument could be made that Zepplin’s “Stairway to Heaven,” is actually one of the first and the best of all Heavy Metal. Every now and then I have to climb that stairway:)


Leave a Reply

