jump to navigation

Malcontent January 9, 2007

Posted by K in Extreme Nostalgia, Reviews/Rants.
trackback

Atleast, presently. Sigh. My keyboard class is infested with 6-7 year olds. Some might be a wee bit older, but they all look the same. There are about 5-6 of them, and I, a 19 year old, feel a weebittle OVERAGE! The ‘adult batch’, of 2-3 people or so I was told, is nowhere to be seen. They are ‘on leave’. Only, nobody seems to know when they get ‘off leave’. I asked. Twice. The music teacher did not know. So I asked the gentleman at the reception. Who took me to the music teacher. The three of us had a conversation, I was asked to stay back and check out how well he teaches the vocal music students, and by the time I walked out, I realised I still didn’t know when the ‘adult’ batch was coming back.Hm. Something doesn’t smell too good. And I wonder why Priest’s Lochness is playing over and over in my head.

My first class was okay; I was excited to hear Mera Juta Hai Japani on the keyboard and excited that my fingers still moved. The initial euphoria fizzled out today, however, as I had my second doze of afore-mentioned kids. Not that they’re bad kids…they sit quietly enough, and keep an appropriate distance, but, well, I’m still a 19 year old stuck amongst toddlers.Hmph. Mr. Teacher(don’t know his name yet) penned down the remainder of the songs, but I couldn’t help comparing it to my last teacher’s way of doing things. The last gentleman, Mr. Sharma, was a brilliant musician and a brilliant teacher. His notes were clear on paper, not just S R G Ms lined up against each other, and he pushed me, and took my finger movements to another level. He was very amazing. I stopped classes in class 8, as far as I remember, because of ‘increasing academic load’. Fool!*Hits self on head* Anyway, its probably very unfair to compare, so I will give myself one month to adjust and adapt. And I will try my best to multiply the ages of the little beings around me by atleast 3. Slash that; even 2 will do.

note: It seems even my keyboard is missing the good ol’ days; its been weeping tears of black rubber, proof of which can be found on my jeans, my bed, and the carpet at Sangeet Sh–.

Comments»

1. diana - January 10, 2007

You’re learning to play keyboard? lol. Good luck! it is fun. If you need tuitions (LOL) I know a piano teacher…. heheheh. just kidding. let me know how it goes, and if the adult batch ever shows up. 😉

2. sporadicblogger - January 10, 2007

lol@ piano teacher and if-the-adult-batch-ever-shows-up 🙂 Sigh. i have a feeling they never will.
I’m also planning on joining cricket coaching this summer;)


Leave a Reply

