jump to navigation

December 9, 2006

Posted by K in Abstract Ramblings, Nonsense, Poem.
trackback

I’ a little tea pot

Sitting on my spot

All of yesterday I spent

Reading Paradise Lost

 

I have a piece of candy

Extracted from my brain

People come and look at it

And tell me that it rained

Its pink in colour,

With bittle bits of blue

Those who leave their raincoats home

Are far and between few.

Its candy,

Doubtless, dandy

Won’t you have a piece?

Its made from bits and pieces

That also belonged to you.

I have a mixer grinder

That’s very good at its job

So when I pull out the candy

And skate the dandy

I must wonder why

You turn your face away

I must wonder why

You put a spanner in my works

When you cemented the sky.

Comments»

1. glandheim - December 11, 2006

One should defnitely not compose poetry after reading Paradise Lost. It’s like going grocery shopping after smoking a joint.

Please, Please, Please don’t write anything after you’ve spent a day reading T.S. Eliot. You’d probably write like J.K. Rowling channeling Oscal Wilde.

Thanks. I’ll have a piece of brain candy now:)

2. sporadicblogger - December 11, 2006

Ha ha, thats why its under my favourite Nonsense category :p
You like Paradise Lost? It took me weeks(and, finally, a good teacher) to figure out where to place myself while reading it. I have an exam on an extract day after tomorrow.
Do you dislike either Rowling or Wilde? 🙂

3. glandheim - December 12, 2006

Actually, I’ve never read Rowling. I keep wanting to, but I can’t find the first book at the used book store (I’m on a budget).

I used to love Oscar Wilde. Such a delightful, witty, wicked, unrepentant pervert. “The Picture of Dorian Grey,” “Salome’s Last Dance,” “The Ballad of Reading Gaol” (rather depressing).

There was a recent movie based on a play by him, “A Good Woman,” with Helen Hunt and Scarlett Johansson. The reviewers didn’t like it, largely because they didn’t like Helen Hunt in the role of Femme Fatale, but I thought it was extremely well done. Lots of fine irony.

The following is copied from a comment I made on my blog in response to a comment from someone else:

Did you ever see the movie based on his life, “Wilde,” made in 1997. I just looked it up. It had Jude Law in it, I see. Has to be the first movie I ever saw him in. Great job, if I remember correctly. And Stephen Fry was brilliant as Wilde.

If you’re into degenrate films, try almost anything by Ken Russell: “Salome’s Last Dance ,” (yep, the Wilde play), “The Music Lovers,” “The Devils,” (my favorite movie of all time), “The Lair of the White Worm,” (the title says it all), “Crimes of Passion,” (you gotta see this, Kathleen Turner at her sensuous peak, with Anthony Perkins, as creepy as he was in Psycho.)

4. glandheim - December 12, 2006

Forgot to say that I _loved_ “Paradise Lost.” Haven’t read it in over 20 years, but Milton really could create vivid imagery. I’m surprised the church didn’t have him killed. Lucifer came off as a hero, like Prometheus.


Leave a Reply

