jump to navigation

The Obsession with Weight September 30, 2006

Posted by K in contemporary, Life, Reviews/Rants.
trackback

Why is it that whenever one isn’t sufficiently plump, accusations of dieting comes their way? Every aunty/uncle worth his/her salt thinks talk of skinny models makes for good dinner table conversation. Beta, why aren’t you eating (because I stuffed myself silly before dinner?)? Did you know that even models are being told to fatten up( while we’re on the topic… um, no! Irritating and disgusting as it is, internationally, skinny models still fill out(pun not intended) the most expensive lingerie for the haute-est audience). A knowing laugh shared with the rest of the adult population and- really girls these days…!

The way I look at this, there are too many problems with this..this..this whatchamacalit(auntygiri? Girth-obssessed-giri?).

Firstly, just because I am physically incapable of dieting, it doesn’t mean that dieting in itself is a dirty concept. A good diet comprises healthy food, eaten at regular intervals-no oily, fried, and other no-no food items ingested…so if one were on a diet, wouldn’t it be a good thing? Shouldn’t it be aunty/uncle pleasing material in the same category as old-people-worship and singing/dancing Indianally?

And secondly, what makes a particular weight the ‘right’ weight? Who’s to say that I at my weight can’t physically outperform those twice it? What determines ‘health’? Not the weighing machine, I know.

The assumption that ‘girls these days’ obsess about weight, food intake and looks irritates me. There might be some girls (and boys, dear aunty/uncle) who do indeed sit down with calorie-calculators before any meal, but its downright silly to generalise and assume the entire female/male population within a certain age category is victim to the illness. I remember an article in Brunch some months back on this topic. The writer, an obnoxious, self- obsessed woman with controversial views, claimed that no woman can consume food without being conscious of the calorie intake. According to her, no woman (and what bugged me the most about her as-usual irritating piece was that she insisted on generalising) can eat a chocolate pastry or any other such item without feeling guilty. She went on giving many more examples, each time emphasizing how NO woman has ever eaten a cream filled pastry without feeling guilty before/during/after the event.

What a preposterous assumption! Most women I know (and not all have svelte figures either, and neither do they gym) cheerfully consume sinful deserts without giving a thought to guilt. Ours, thankfully, is not yet a weight-obsessed nation, though that will change soon enough. Globalisation, in all his kindness, will see to that.

Comments»

1. Aishwarya - September 30, 2006

Would the writer in question be Seema Goswami? That woman’s stupidity just seems to leap off the page and strangle you, doesn’t it?

I DO worry about my weight, mainly because my coach reminds me of it every day. Sigh.

2. sporadicblogger - October 1, 2006

Ah, yes, it would be that woman. I don’t even know why I read her column at all, seems rather masochistic at times, because she is PAINFUL!

Sportspeople cannot be counted in my generalisation 😉 Theirs is a constant battle with their coach, though the Ramesh Powars can still get away with their body types because cricket is a relatively sedentary sport.

3. R-E-D - March 6, 2007

I can’t believe I never commented on this post? Or did I comment and get removed? (a) lol

I loved this post I was rolling on the floor laughing when I first read it and I came back fishing for it tonight so I could ask Christine to have a look.

I LOVE how you write.
-RED

4. enit - March 6, 2007

I eat desserts and I DO NOT feel guilty about it.. How could I ever enjoy it if I did??!!!
Great post. Uncles and auntys can get so frustrating sometimes!! I think most of them are just too bored and so they attack innocent youth of today…

Enit


Leave a Reply

