jump to navigation

I fell In love again March 27, 2006

Posted by K in Life, Maiden, Reviews/Rants.
trackback

Today,I realised again what supercalifragilistisespealydocoius(ok,ok! can’t spell it!) entity Maiden is!

I love them, their lyrics, their music, their everything, what they stand for, what they DON”T stand for.

They are thinkers. they are legends who don’t get their due. maybe they will someday. Maybe they wont(ha ha pallavi πŸ˜‰ )

But that doesn’t change anything, does it?

There are no words to express what i feel for maiden

\m/nod nod\m/ πŸ˜€

I think its more than just music for me. Its a way of life, almost.

Thats the diff between them and the others-ozzy,priestetc who also rock, obviously, but just aint maiden.

: eyes: I know in a few minutes I’ll want to take this weird ranty,kiddy post off :eyes:

πŸ˜€

Comments»

1. pallavi - March 29, 2006

heyaaaaaaaaaa,
uff u and ur maiden obsession πŸ™‚ actually i must admit that i ve started getting interested too but ONLY because of you awwwwwwhhh but they are certainly not ‘thinkers’ (dun kniw why though :D)
ALL I CAN SAY IS MAYBE I WILL LIKE THEM BUT ONLY BECAUSE I LIKE YOU TOO MUCH TO HATE ANYONE YOU MADLY LOVE
haahaaahaa
cheers
puchi

2. sporadicblogger - March 30, 2006

lololol πŸ˜€ YAY MY 3 and a 1/2th convert!!!lolol πŸ˜€

But they ARe thinkers, check out their lyrics :drool:
they’ve written on topics ranging from mythology(a looot), historical events, and a lots of their songs are beautiful poetry. Read Blood brothers, infact all the lyrics on the album BNW

3. kanishka - March 21, 2007

i love maiden to death…and think they’re certainly one of the greatest live acts in the history of rock and roll.

as far as lyrics are concerned – dickinson could get a little pretentious and cheesy (Moonchild, the beginning of revelations – the gk chesterton quote) but that phase is over. harris on the other hand tells it like it is, and that can be a problem (sometimes). From X factor and beyond their lyrics have really matured. What i love is the subject matter. Not too many bands write about alexander the great and russian society. Sting tries but he’s the King of Pretence.

Not to say they didnt have deep songs before, its just that on average the bar has been lifted.

Reason no. 2: The music standard was always kept high, even on their 2 mostly crappy albums – Fear of the Dark and No prayer for the dying. These two albums suffered from the band sounding tired and dickinson sounding bored. But the central ideas were good, just terrible execution at times. They ALWAYS have one or two songs that are brilliant though. (Fear of the Dark, and I like Holy Smoke, and Mother Russia).

Reason no. 3: Harris’ bass.

Reason no. 4: Dickinson

Reason no. 5: They always always did it their way. And became successful and rich rock stars, but man did they work for it!

4. sporadicblogger - March 21, 2007

I totally agree with the way you put it. Difficult to come across maiden heads who go beyond I love Maiden \m/*dorky grin* (me included,haha)

I agree about the subject matter-that was one of the first things that got me into maiden. I’m sick to death of bands that write about love,sex and drugs. This was a band that used their heads and senses.

Glad that you consider FOTD and NPFTD as their crappiest albums, and not X Factor or VXI πŸ™‚ . I think FOTD is probably their weakest album- I like a few songs off it, but I don’t listen to it much. Weekend warrior? argh! NPFTD I don’t mind as much, but then again, I don’t listen to it as much as some others.

Harris is God πŸ™‚ That man is amazing; the way he has kept Maiden together and his songwriing! Brilliant!

Reason no 5-yes, I like that about them. I love it how they are one band that has kept away from drugs and that whole rockstar lifestyle.
Very unique, that makes them!

Do you blog by any chance?

5. kanishka - March 22, 2007

Nope I dont blog. I have an email address and an orkut page and thats how I intend to keep it.

I’ve lived 6 years being ridiculed for my taste in heavy metal. I should add I’m 24, and aspiring PhD student.

Do you study in DU? I went to Stephens then to Dschool and spent a year sucking up the corporate lifestyle, then quit and am working in a research organization.

Dont know why I just gave out my bio.

6. kanishka - March 22, 2007

The reason why I go beyond the usual “I Love Maiden!” or “Maiden rules!” kind of comments is that I’ve often wondered why I like them so much.

I’ve tried to get into loads of music, but metal keeps pulling me back. Anyway, its nice to know there are other people who think like me.

7. kanishka - March 22, 2007

maybe i’m going in for post-overkill but what the heck

i dont think bands that write about love/sex, drugs and girls are necessarily NOT using their heads. It is infact my contention that most of rock’s well-known songs are about the above.

Its just that there’s a certain novelty to Maiden’s choice of lyrics, and a certain amount of fun in singing “his eyes are ablaze, see the madman in hees gaaaeeze…FLY! on your way! LIKE AN EAGLE!..” you get what i mean i hope. then saying “oh thats about the legend of icarus”. it is kind of geeky, yes.

I think the reason why people like listening to songs about L/S, D and G is because they wish their lives to be that way. Or they imagine themselves as Axl Rose when he says he “maybe young, but i ain’t naive” which is kind of funny.

What would you prefer – a 20 yr old singing “gonna give you my love, every inch of my love” or “aaaalexaaander the greeat, his name struck FEAR into hearts of MEN” ?

The answer is obvious. Up the Irons!

8. sporadicblogger - March 22, 2007

Lol, I’d rather have the 20 year old singing aaaaaalexaaaaander the greeaaat,lolol.
Thanks for the many comments, I tend to do that a lot,lol. I guess I’ll do a reply for reply, so here goes #1
You are on orkut? I’ll add you then. I’ve become a compulsive orkutter post the whole maiden thing. What name are you under? There will be too many kanishkas to sift through.

I’ve never had to face the ridiculing. Most people look at me and say you? Into metal? Because apparently I look like the kidns to like sappy soft music. Argh. lol. Most of my close friends aren’t into metal, so most of my metal talk and maiden talk happens online,lol.
Yup, I’m in DU.
And lol, always intersting to read a bio, haha.

9. sporadicblogger - March 22, 2007

I’d be interested to know why you think bands that write about the L/S, D and G as you put it πŸ˜€ are not NOT using their heads…Are they not succumbing to cliches? I know it sells better than singing about alexander the great or even rime of the ancient mariner..but it is precisely that which draws me more and more to maiden. I don’t find gk chesterton quotes cheesy or pretentious πŸ™‚ Bruce is a history graduate after all πŸ™‚

Yes, maybe we could meet sometime. Lets see though..not anytime soon, however, am too busy. Or rather, I OUGHT to be busy, heh heh.

10. kanishka kacker - March 23, 2007

vanilla gorilla is the name i’m under.

i guess you’ve got exams?

11. kanishka kacker - March 23, 2007

i dont know if someone genuinely succumbs to a cliche.

and, see the lyrics to black sabbath’s ‘snowblind’ to see how writing about cocaine needn’t be as foolish as in that song that eric clapton covered (which i HATE from the bottom of my heart). the words are so beautiful and chilling at the same time…like snow? he he

12. sporadicblogger - March 23, 2007

Yup, exams!

I’ll check out the lyrics. Writing about cocaine needn’t be foolish, I agree with you, and until I can come up with better examples i shall leave off talking about fool bands πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

